Fake Tinder Profiles: This Photo Is Not Real

The person you see does not exist — the answer? A.I.

Kevin Buddaeus
4 min readNov 2, 2020
Image by This Person Does Not Exist

It looks like a professionally taken photo of a beautiful young Japanese woman. Maybe you’ll come across her on Tinder and be immediately drawn to her. At the latest when she tries to avoid meeting up with you, you should become suspicious. Is she a catfish? Yes.

The truth is, that this photo is a fabrication of modern A.I. technology. This woman was never born. She never existed. Scary, isn’t it?

By now, A.I. is capable of creating these photos out of thin air. Here are a few more examples:

Image by This Person Does Not Exist
Image by This Person Does Not Exist
Image by This Person Does Not Exist

The technology behind these seemingly real images is a GAN (Generative Adversarial Network) called StyleGAN, developed by Tero Karras and his team of researchers working for Nvidia. A.I. uses deep learning to create…

--

--

Kevin Buddaeus

Follow me on this long journey to grow and learn together. We can make the world a better place. Connect with me via Twitter: @KBuddaeus